Postmodern prophets: Milligan and Marx

Here’s my personal attempt to outdo the postmodernist essay generator. This post was sparked by some philosophical emails flying around at work, analyzing the works of two great 20th-century philosophers:

The secret of life is honesty and fair dealing. If you can fake that, you’ve got it made!
— Groucho Marx

Money can’t buy you happiness.. but it does bring you a more pleasant form of misery.
— Spike Milligan

My observation:
Spike Milligan’s problems exemplified the philosphical conundrums inherent in challenging the paradigms of a modernist culture with deconstuctivist irony and consequent existential confusion related to the perception of departure from established social norms. However such norms are an illusion propagated by those attempting to conflate their countercultural ideology with cultural tradition. The enterprise is doomed to fail, for the prevailing cultural notion of “truth” is no longer a concrete concept highlighted by its counterpoint “error”. Truth in the contemporary conception is a plurifom abstraction ultimately signifying nothing.
— <:ob

4 thoughts on “Postmodern prophets: Milligan and Marx

  1. Hi Robert. Sorry I’m commenting on something which I haven’t read…I figured it was the only way I could get in contact with you. My name’s Michele Robertson and I am a year 12 student at Ham. Girls’ High. I was wondering if you would be able to answer some questions on the homosexual Law Reform bill for me. I saw your comments on the destiny church enough is enough march on http://www.stonesoup.co.nz/ecoqueer/archives/003699.html and was interested because I think that your opinion could be useful for my project. If you can, please email me at sos.inquiry@gmail.com asap. Thanks for your time.

  2. Peasant,

    Just read you response on PC’s notPC blog. Interesting I find is the common argument by materialist/ “rationalits” that xtains cling to an invisible concept that has no evidence in reality. This argument totally ignores supernatural miracles! I know of folks who have been supernaturally healed, and I have seen people radically changed by an encounter with God. While I love to argue about the philosophical sides to belief and existence, a true testimony of the supernatual miracle is the most powerful thing. Makes me want to seek God so much more and realise these kinds of miracles too, what a testimony that would be

    Pstyle

  3. Hello there! Miracles are indeed a wonderful & powerful testimony, which confounds the “rational” mind. But they are only part of the story: we overcome the lies of the evil one “by the blood of the Lamb and the word of our testimony” (Rev 12:11), and by “the sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God” (Eph 6).

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

