God speaks through Freddy Mercury

I want to break free
I want to break free
I want to break free from your lies
You’re so self satisfied I don’t need you
I’ve got to break free
God knows, God knows I want to break free

I’ve fallen in love
I’ve fallen in love for the first time
And this time I know it’s for real
I’ve fallen in love, yeah
God knows, God knows I’ve fallen in love

Sometimes a song comes to my heart which seems to have an extra emotional kick to it. I often feel God speaking to me through random songs on the radio, about something deep He is doing in my life. This one was floating around me when I needed prayer for some very negative thought patterns. It dovetails nicely with Isaiah 61, one of the most powerful passages in the Bible. Music has the ability to bypass our intellectual filters and speak straight to the soul. [God gave rock’n’roll to ya] !!

2 thoughts on “God speaks through Freddy Mercury

  1. wierd… as i go to write this we are the champions comes over the radio… god intervening again i suppose…

    what i was going to do is refer u to Nicky Gumbel’s use of MErcury in his opening of Alpha (which i viewed last friday). Taken from “Questions of Life”:

    Freddie Mercury, the lead singer of the rock group Queen, who died at the end of 1991 wrote in one of his last songs on The Miracle album, ‘Does anybody know what we are living for?’ In spite of the fact that he had amassed a huge fortune and had attracted thousands of fans, he admitted in an interview shortly before his death that he was desperately lonely. He said, ‘You can have everything in the world and still be the loneliest man, and that is the most bitter type of loneliness. Success has brought me world idolisation and millions of pounds, but it’s prevented me from having the one thing we all need – a loving, ongoing relationship.’

    He was right to speak of an ‘ongoing relationship’ as the one thing we all need. Yet no human relationship will satisfy entirely. Nor can it be completely ongoing. There will always be something missing. That is because we were created to live in a relationship with God. Jesus said, 1 am the way.’ He is the only One who can bring us into that relationship with God that goes on into eternity.

  2. Hi Chez, thanks for being the first person to comment on my new blog! Yeah old Freddy definitely had an amazing gift, and some all too human flaws. I don’t have a whole lot [of material things], but considering Freddy’s life, I feel very wealthy and blessed.

Leave a Reply

