Music for a Market Meltdown

1. America, “You Can Do Magic

I never believed in things that I couldn’t see
I said if I can’t feel it then how can it be
No, no magic could happen to me
And then I saw you

I couldn’t believe it, you took my heart
I couldn’t retrieve it, said to myself
What’s it all about
Now I know there can be no doubt

You can do magic
You can have anything that you desire
Magic, and you know
You’re the one who can put out the fire

HT: Thoughts from the Boonies ~ see also : Youtube
Blogger “IrvineRenter” describes financial products as a “mixture of magic and alchemy

2. Don MacLean, “American Pie

So, bye-bye, Miss American Pie
Drove my Chevy to the levee
But the levee was dry
And them good old boys were drinkin’ whiskey and rye
Singin’ this’ll be the day that I die
This’ll be the day that I die

IrvineRenter, again, writes in “The Day the Market Died
One of the hallmarks of a great song is its ability to be interpreted in different ways. American Pie is an allegory of our times, an ode to the death of our housing market. With leverage drying up, the party is over. The last drink is for the death of the market itself, and with it’s death, the death of the American Dream of home ownership for thousands of overextended homedebtors.

3. Led Zeppelin, “Stairway to Heaven

There’s a Lady who’s sure,
All that glitters is gold,
And she’s buying a Stairway to Heaven.
When she gets there she knows,
If the stores are all closed,
With a word she can get what she came for.

Ooh ooh and she’s buying a stairway to heaven.

There’s a sign on the wall,
But she wants to be sure,
’cause you know sometimes words have two meanings.
In a tree by the brook
There’s a song bird who sings,
Sometimes all of our thoughts are misgiven.

Ooh it makes me wonder, ooh makes me wonder.

There’s a feeling I get when I look to the west,
And my spirit is crying for leaving.
In my thoughts I have seen rings of smoke through the trees
And the voices of those who stand looking.

This is one of the most spooky, prophetic rock songs you’ll hear. Various interpretations are floating around but the best one (IMHO) is found at inthelight.co.nz :
The theme of STH is spiritual liberation. The Stairway to Heaven is the liberation of the soul, as it makes the long journey through hell and Earth (physical world) to the higher spiritual planes. As Plant said (on the 27 July 1973, Madison Square Gardens recording, and on other occasions) when introducing STH, “… this is a song of hope”. This hope reflecting some of the ideals of the Hippie movement, that the values of human society will turn away from desires for greed and wealth and power towards universal love and kindness and the evolution of the soul. To quote from Great Spirit (Fate of Nations) – “grace, courage, honesty and love” …

This is Plant talking, and he also speaks for many of us. The “west” refers to the greed, capitalism and technology of western civilisation. (The “east” is the spiritual way of love and compassion and enlightenment of the soul). He doesn’t like what he sees, and wants to take a different path.

Leave a Reply

